Cryogenics is the world's leading journal focusing on all aspects of cryoengineering and cryogenics. Papers published in Cryogenics cover a wide variety of subjects in low temperature engineering and research. Among the areas covered are:
• Applications of superconductivity: magnets, electronics, devices
• Superconductors and their properties
• Properties of materials: metals, alloys, composites, polymers, insulations
• New applications of cryogenic technology to processes, devices, machinery
• Refrigeration and liquefaction technology
• Thermodynamics
• Fluid properties and fluid mechanics
• Heat transfer
• Thermometry and measurement science
• Cryogenics in medicine
• Cryoelectronics

As well as original research papers, Cryogenics contains commissioned review articles on the latest developments in cryogenics worldwide, research and technical notes describing preliminary results and experimental details, and letters to the Editor on recent areas of discussion and controversy.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • B. Baudouy
    Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, CEA Saclay, Irfu/SACM Bâtiment 123, 91191 Gif-Sur-Yvette Cedex, France
  • H.-M. Chang
    Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Hong Ik University, 94 Wausan-Ro, Mapo-Gu, Seoul, 121-791, South Korea
  • P. Shirron
    NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland, MD 20771, USA

International Advisory Editors

  • L. Bottura
    CERN, Genève, Switzerland
  • J.G. Brisson
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • T.S. Datta
    Inter University Accelerator Centre , New Delhi, India
  • J.-L. Duchateau
    Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (CEA), St. Paul-lez-Durance, France
  • C. Haberstroh
    Technische Universität Dresden, Dresden, Germany
  • K.T. Hartwig
    Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
  • S. Jeong
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Daejon-shi, The Republic of Korea
  • P. Lebrun
    CERN, Genève, Switzerland
  • M. Lewandowska
    West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szczecin, Poland
  • R. Maekawa
    ITER Organization, St Paul Lez Durance, France
  • B.-Z. Maytal
    Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • M. Murakami
    University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan
  • J.M. Pfotenhauer
    University of Wisconsin at Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, USA
  • L. Qiu
    Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
  • R. Radebaugh
    National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Boulder, Colorado, USA
  • A. Ravex
    Air Liquide, Sassenage, France
  • D. Rodrigues Jr
    Universidade de São Paulo (USP), Lorena - SP, Brazil
  • A. Rowe
    University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • J.-I. Shimoyama
    The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
  • M. Siegel
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany
  • M.D. Sumption
    The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA
  • T. Takeuchi
    National Institute of Materials Science, Ibaraki, Japan
  • H.J.M. ter Brake
    University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands
  • G. Thummes
    Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Giessen, Germany
  • S. Van Sciver
    Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, USA
  • H.W. Weber
    TU Wien, Wien, Austria
  • L. Xiao
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Beijing, China