Bioresource Technology publishes original articles, review articles, case studies and short communications on the fundamentals, applications and management of bioresource technology.

The journal's aim is to advance and disseminate knowledge in all the related areas of biomass, biological waste treatment, bioenergy, biotransformations and bioresource systems analysis, and technologies associated with conversion or production.

Topics include:

• Biofuels: liquid and gaseous biofuels production, modeling and economics
• Bioprocesses and bioproducts: biocatalysis and fermentations
• Biomass and feedstocks utilization: bioconversion of agro-industrial residues
• Environmental protection: biological waste treatment
• Thermochemical conversion of biomass: combustion, pyrolysis, gasification, catalysis.

For more details, authors should consult the Subject Classifications in the Guide for Authors.

The Journal does not consider articles dealing with crop cultivation, breeding and agronomy, plant extracts and enzymes, composites, marine organisms (except microorganisms and algae for bioprocesses), soil and air pollution, and performance of fuel combustion in engines.

Bioresource Technology does not consider part papers.

Editorial board


  • Ashok Pandey
    CSIR-Indian Institute of Toxicology Research, 226-001, Lucknow, India


  • Christian Larroche
    Polytech Clermont-Ferrand, Université Blaise Pascal, Aubière, France
  • Huu Hao Ngo
    School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Associate Editors

  • Robin Anderson
    Southern Plains Agricultural Research Center, College Station, Texas, USA
  • Thallada Bhaskar PhD, FBRS
    CSIR - Indian Institute of Petroleum (IIP), Dehradun, Uttarakhand, India
  • Jo-Shu Chang
    National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan
  • Samir Khanal
    University of Hawaii at Mãnoa, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
  • Yong Sik Ok PhD
    Korea University, Seoul, The Republic of Korea
  • Maria Angeles Sanromán
    University of Vigo, Vigo, Spain
  • Mohammad Taherzadeh
    University of Borås, Borås, Sweden
  • Luciana Porto de Souza Vandenberghe
    Federal University of Paraná (UFPR), Curitiba, Brazil

Editorial Board Member

  • Fabrizio Adani
    University of Milan
  • Irini Angelidaki
    Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark
  • Richard Ashby
    Eastern Regional Centre, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Alain Bergel
    Laboratoire de Génie Chimique, Toulouse, France
  • Silvia Bolado Rodríguez
    Department of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Technology, Universidad de Valladolid, Valladolid, Spain
  • Ramaraj Boopathy
    Dept. of Biological Sciences, Nicholls State University, Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA
  • Guillermo R. Castro
    National University of La Plata, La Plata, Argentina
  • Pascale Champagne Ph.D., P.Eng., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE
    Beaty Water Research Centre, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada
  • In Seop Chang
    School of Environmenatl Science and Engineering, Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology (GIST), Gwangju, The Republic of Korea
  • Carlos G. Dosoretz
    Div. of Environmental, Water and Agricultural Engineering, Fac. of Civil+Environmental Eng., Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • Guocheng Du
    Sch. of Biotechnology and Key Laboratory of Industrial Biotechnology, Jiangnan University, Jiangsu, China
  • Claude-Gilles Dussap
    Clermont Auvergne University
  • Yujie Feng PhD
    School of Environment, Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, China
  • Edgard Gnansounou
    Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Wenshan Guo
    Fac. of Engineering and Information Technology, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Patrick C. Hallenbeck
    Microbiologie et immunologie, Université de Montréal, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Heribert Insam
    University of Innsbruck, Innsbruck, Austria
  • Jega Jegatheesan
    Department of Environmental Engineering, School of Engineering, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Akihiko Kondo
    Dept. of Chemical Science & Engineering, Kobe University, Kobe, Japan
  • Sunil Kumar
    National Environmental Engineering Research Institute, Nagpur, India
  • Michael. R. Ladisch PhD
    Department of Agricultural & Biological Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
  • Jin-Suk Lee
    Korea Institute of Energy Research, Daejeon, The Republic of Korea
  • Keat Teong Lee
    School of Chemical Engineering, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
  • Giorgio Mannina PhD
    University of Palermo, Palermo, Italy
  • Ganti S. Murthy
    Dept. of Biological and, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon, USA
  • Deepak Pant
    Separation and Conversion Technology, Flemish Institute for Technological Research, Mol, Belgium
  • Juan Carlos Parajó
    Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Universidade de Vigo, Lagoas, Ourense, Spain
  • Binod Parameswaran PhD
    National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Trivandrum, India
  • Rongsheng Roger Ruan PhD
    College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resources, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
  • Antoni Sánchez
    Autonomous University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
  • Michael Sauer
    Department of Chemistry, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (BOKU), Vienna, Austria
  • Sang Jung Sim PhD
    Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Korea University, Seoul, The Republic of Korea
  • Reeta Rani Singhania
    The Centre for Energy and Environmental Sustainability (CEES), Lucknow, India
  • Daniel Tsang PhD
    Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China
  • Rajeshwar Tyagi
    Centre Eau Terre Environnement, INRS, Quebec, Quebec, Canada
  • Venkata Mohan
    Bioengineering and Environmental Sciences, Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, India
  • C. Visvanathan
    School of Environment, Resources and Development, Asian Institute of Technology, Klongluang, Pathumthani, Thailand
  • Paul Weimer
    US Dairy Forage Research Center, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Agricultural Research Service (ARS), West Madison, Wisconsin, USA
  • Jonathan W.C. Wong
    Dept. of Biology, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong, China
  • Yonghong Wu
    Inst. of Soil Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Nanjing, China
  • Jianglong Yu
    Dept. of Chemical Engineering, The University of Newcastle, Callaghan, Australia
  • Guangming Zhang
    School of Environment & Natural Resource, Renmin University of China, Beijing, China