Annals of Nuclear Energy provides an international medium for the communication of original research, ideas and developments in all areas of the field of nuclear energy science and technology. Its scope embraces nuclear fuel reserves, fuel cycles and cost, materials, processing, system and component technology (fission only), design and optimization, direct conversion of nuclear energy sources, environmental control, reactor physics, heat transfer and fluid dynamics, structural analysis, fuel management, future developments, nuclear fuel and safety, nuclear aerosol, neutron physics, computer technology (both software and hardware), risk assessment, radioactive waste disposal and reactor thermal hydraulics. Papers submitted to Annals need to demonstrate a clear link to nuclear power generation/nuclear engineering. Papers which deal with pure nuclear physics, pure health physics, imaging, or attenuation and shielding properties of concretes and various geological materials are not within the scope of the journal. Also, papers that deal with policy or economics are not within the scope of the journal. Please read these guidelines for papers submitted to Annals which deal with computer codes and simulations.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board

Executive Editors

  • Mostafa Ghiaasiaan
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Imre Pázsit
    Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden
  • Sara Pozzi
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Associate Editor

  • Hany S. Abdel-Khalik
    Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
  • Piero Ravetto
    Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy

Advisory Editors

  • M. Antonopoulos-Domis
    Institute of Nuclear Technology, Athens, Greece
  • Liangzhi Cao
    Xi’an Jiaotong University, Xi’an Shaanxi, China
  • Go Chiba
    Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan
  • Nam Zin Cho
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Daejeon, The Republic of Korea
  • Paul Coddington
    Shropshire, England, UK
  • Jeffrey Favorite
    Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
  • Augusto Gandini
    Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Rome, Italy
  • Han Gyu Joo
    Seoul National University (SNU), Gwanak-Gu, Seoul, The Republic of Korea
  • Andrew Klein
    Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon, USA
  • H. Konno
    University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba, Ibarki, Japan
  • Deokjung Lee
    Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST), Ulsan, The Republic of Korea
  • Jeong Ik Lee
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Daejeon, The Republic of Korea
  • Jaakko Leppänen
    VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland
  • Sudarshan Loyalka
    University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri, USA
  • M. Milgram
    Canadian Nuclear Society, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • José Muñoz-Cobo
    Universitat Politècnica de València, Valencia, Spain
  • Chin Pan
    National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
  • Geoffrey T. Parks
    University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
  • Anil Prinja
    University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
  • Cheol Ho Pyeon
    Kyoto University, Osaka, Japan
  • Farzad Rahnema
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Dinesh Chandra Sahni
    Bhabha Atomi Research Center, Mumbai, India
  • Richard Sanchez
    Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives (CEA), Gif-sur Yvette, France
  • Poong Hyun Seong
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Daejeon, The Republic of Korea
  • Wenxi Tian
    Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'an, Shaanxi, China
  • D. B. Trauger
    Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
  • Marianne Uematsu
    Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation, Tokyo, Japan
  • Hugo Van Dam
    Delft University of Technology, Delft, Netherlands
  • K. Velusamy
    Indira Gandhi Centre Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, India
  • Karen Vierow
    Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
  • Hay Kan Wang
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Frank-Peter Weiß
    Gesellschaft fuer Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) mbH, Garching bei München, Germany
  • Toshihiro Yamamoto
    Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • Jiyun Zhao
    City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong