The world must move toward a more sustainable energy future, and the development of technologies that facilitate this for transport, heating, and power systems is crucial. This journal encourages papers on any aspect and scale of technologies for energy generation and/or utilization that decrease the impact of that production and use, from the laboratory to commercial applications.
Papers on technology development/improvement, integration, regulation, standards and policy are within the scope of the journal, as well as case studies.
Technology assessments estimating and discussing metrics such as scale of application, size and weight per unit of energy output, economics, efficiency, and state of technology development are particularly welcomed, for both individual or comparative systems.
The main fields of focus are generation, storage, and conversion; energy efficiency and distribution; and policy and economics. Energy fields include, but are not limited to, carbon capture and storage, wind, bioenergy, solar/PV, hydro, geothermal, and conventional fuels, along with system analysis, environmental issues, energy harvesting, and building design. Papers that incorporate more than one of these topics, either in a unified system or through a comparison of these fields, are encouraged.

Editorial board


  • Laura Schaefer
    Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA

Associate Editors

  • Ioannis Ieropoulos
    Bristol Robotics Laboratory, Bristol, UK
  • Meng Ni
    The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Amanda Smith
    The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Editorial Board

  • Antonio Bula
    Universidad del Norte, Barranquilla, Colombia
  • Wilson Chiu
    University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut, USA
  • Mirella Di Lorenzo
    University of Bath, Bath, England, UK
  • Jie Ji
    University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Hefei, China
  • Gon Kim
    Kyung Hee University, Yongin, The Republic of Korea
  • Pedro Mago
    Mississippi State University, Miss State, Mississippi, USA
  • Joshua Pearce
    Michigan Technological University, Houghton, Michigan, USA
  • Andreas Poullikkas
    Cyprus University of Technology, Nicosia, Cyprus
  • Ming Qu
    Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
  • Christian Sattler
    German Aerospace Center (DLR), Koeln, Germany
  • Luis Serra
    Universidad de Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain
  • Sam Shelton
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Kazuhiko Suga
    Osaka Prefecture University, Sakai, Japan
  • David Ting
    University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario, Canada
  • Tord Torisson
    Lund University, Lund, Sweden
  • Evelyn Wang
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • Lingfeng Wang
    University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
  • Jon Winfield
    University of the West of England, Bristol, UK
  • Jesús Xaman Villase
    National Center for Research and Technology Development (CENIDET), Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico