Mechanical Systems and Signal Processing (MSSP) is an interdisciplinary journal in Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering with the purpose of reporting scientific advancements of the highest quality arising from new techniques in sensing, instrumentation, signal processing, modelling and control of dynamic systems. MSSP papers are expected to make a demonstrable original contribution to engineering knowledge, which should be significant in terms of advancement over established methods. Especially sought are papers that include both theoretical and experimental aspects, or that include theoretical material of high relevance to practical applications. MSSP is a leader in its field and research areas covered include:

1. Actuation, Sensing and Control

• Vibration & noise control
• Travelling waves
• Smart-material systems
• Piezoelectrics
• Adaptivity
• Integrated systems

2. Measurement & Signal Processing

• Signal processing for the understanding of mechanical systems
• Full-field vibration/acoustic measurements
• Big data problems

3. Nonlinearity

• Nonlinear vibration problems
• Nonlinear normal modes
• Energy harvesting

4. Rotating Machines, Machinery Diagnostics & SHM

• Diagnostics and prognostics
• Rotor dynamics
• Cracks in rotors
• Bearings and gears

5. Uncertainty Quantification

• Probabilistic, interval & fuzzy analysis
• Reliability and robustness
• Bayesian methods

6. Vibrations, Modal Analysis & Structures

• Structural modelling & identification
• Inverse problems
• Operational modal analysis
• Ambient vibration testing

Papers submitted to MSSP should include in the covering letter a clear statement of the original scientific contribution of the work. This should also be stated briefly in the Abstract and expanded upon in the Introduction. Also in the Introduction it is important to clearly define the specific problem treated with all conditions and assumptions made, and to place the contribution in relation to both the historical literature (usually in chronological order) and the state of art. The state of the art should, as much as possible, be summarised and classified but not given as a mere listing of papers. The specific reason(s) for introducing a new method or approach should become clear based on the presented state of the art. Any advantages of proposed methods over established techniques should be explained clearly and in detail, including comparative tests and experimental evidence wherever possible.

MSSP aims to maintain a high standard of written English and it is the authors' responsibility to ensure that the language is intelligible. Failure to do so may result in rejection of your paper.

Authors of papers with Machine-Learning or Signal Processing content should see the MSSP guidelines on these subjects:

Editorial board


  • J.E. Mottershead
    University of Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Associate Editors

  • J. Antoni
    National Institute of Applied Sciences of Lyon, Villeurbanne, France
  • S. Fassois
    University of Patras Department of Mechanical Engineering and Aeronautics, Patras, Greece
  • X. J. Jing
    Hong Kong Polytechnic University Department of Mechanical Engineering, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Y. Lei
    Xi'an Jiaotong University School of Mechanical Engineering Institute of Design Science and Basic Components, Xi'an, China
  • P. Pennacchi
    Polytechnic of Milan, Milano, Italy

Founding Editor

  • S.G. Braun
    Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel

Advisory Board Members

  • Randall Allemang PhD
    University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
  • N. Bachschmid
    Polytechnic of Milan, Milano, Italy
  • C. Cempel
    Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland
  • D.J. Ewins
    Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom
  • Daniel Inman PhD
    University of Michigan Department of Aerospace Engineering, Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
  • A. Jardine
    University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Y-H. Kim
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea, Republic of
  • M. Link
    University of Kassel, Kassel, Germany
  • R.B. Randall
    University of New South Wales, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • A. Sestieri
    University of Rome La Sapienza, Roma, Italy
  • M. Sidahamed
    Graduate School of Computing for Industry and Business, Evry, France
  • A. Galip Ulsoy Ph.D.
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States

Editorial Board Members

  • M. Beer
    Leibniz University Hanover, Hannover, Germany
  • D. Bernal
    Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts, United States
  • M. Boltežar
    University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • P. Borghesani
    University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
  • Eleni Chatzi
    Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Sergio De Rosa
    University of Naples Federico II, Napoli, Italy
  • N. Dervilis
    The University of Sheffield Department of Mechanical Engineering, Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • E. Fernandez-Grande
    Technical University of Denmark, Kgs Lyngby, Denmark
  • M.I. Friswell
    Swansea University, Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
  • L. Garibaldi
    Polytechnic of Turin, Torino, Italy
  • Y. Halevi
    Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • I. Kougioumtzoglou
    Columbia University Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, New York, New York, United States
  • P.R.G. Kurka
    State University of Campinas, Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
  • O. Ma
    New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
  • N. M. M. Maia
    University of Lisbon Higher Technical Institute, Lisboa, Portugal
  • S. Marburg
    Technical University of Munich, Munchen, Germany
  • N. Martin
    University Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble, France
  • L. Mevel
    Inria Rennes Atlantic Brittany Research Centre, Rennes, France
  • D. Moens
    KU Leuven Association, Leuven, Belgium
  • A. Morassi
    University of Udine, Udine, Italy
  • C. Nataraj
    Villanova University, Villanova, Pennsylvania, United States
  • J.-P. Noël
    Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • W. M. Ostachowicz
    Polish Academy of Sciences, Warszawa, Poland
  • M. Rébillat
    Arts & Metiers Institute of Technology, Paris, France
  • D. Remond
    Contacts and Structures Mechanics Laboratory, Villeurbanne Cedex, France
  • W. X. Ren
    Shenzhen University, College of Civil and Transportation Engineering, Shenzhen, China
  • E. Reynders
    KU Leuven Association, Leuven, Belgium
  • J. Rodellar
    Technical University of Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
  • A. Ross
    Montreal Polytechnic, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Kihong Shin
    Andong National University Department of Mechanical Engineering, Andong, Kyungbuk, Korea, Republic of
  • J. Slavič
    University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • M. Thomas
    School of Engineering and Applied Technology, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • G. Totis
    University of Udine, Udine, Italy
  • F. Ubertini
    University of Perugia, Perugia, Italy
  • P. Walker
    University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia
  • D. Wang
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Mechanical Engineering, Shanghai, China
  • K. Worden
    The University of Sheffield Department of Mechanical Engineering, Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • D. Yurchenko
    Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK
  • H. Zhang
    Beihang University, Beijing, China