Sensors and Actuators A: Physical brings together multidisciplinary interests in one journal entirely devoted to disseminating information on all aspects of research and development of solid-state devices for transducing physical signals. Sensors and Actuators A: Physical regularly publishes original papers, letters to the Editors and from time to time invited review articles within the following device areas:

• Fundamentals and Physics, such as: classification of effects, physical effects, measurement theory, modelling of sensors, measurement standards, measurement errors, units and constants, time and frequency measurement. Modeling papers should bring new modeling techniques to the field and be supported by experimental results.

Materials and their Processing, such as: piezoelectric materials, polymers, metal oxides, III-V and II-VI semiconductors, thick and thin films, optical glass fibres, amorphous, polycrystalline and monocrystalline silicon.

Optoelectronic sensors, such as: photovoltaic diodes, photoconductors, photodiodes, phototransistors, positron-sensitive photodetectors, optoisolators, photodiode arrays, charge-coupled devices, light-emitting diodes, injection lasers and liquid-crystal displays.

Mechanical sensors, such as: metallic, thin-film and semiconductor strain gauges, diffused silicon pressure sensors, silicon accelerometers, solid-state displacement transducers, piezo junction devices, piezoelectric field-effect transducers (PiFETs), tunnel-diode strain sensors, surface acoustic wave devices, silicon micromechanical switches, solid-state flow meters and electronic flow controllers.

Thermal sensors, such as: platinum resistors, thermistors, diode temperature sensors, silicon transistor thermometers, integrated temperature transducers, PTAT circuits, thermocouples, thermopiles, pyroelectric thermometers, quartz thermometers, power transistors and thick-film thermal print heads.

Magnetic sensors, such as: magnetoresistors, Corbino disks, magnetodiodes, Hall-effect devices, integrated Hall devices, silicon depletion-layer magnetometers, magneto-injection transistors, magnistors, lateral magnetotransistors, carrier-domain magnetometers, MOS magnetic-field sensors, solid-state read and write heads.

Micromechanics, such as: research papers on actuators, structures, integrated sensors-actuators, microsystems, and other devices or subdevices ranging in size from millimetres to sub-microns; micromechatronics; microelectromechanical systems; microoptomechanical systems; microchemomechanical systems; microrobots; silicon and non-silicon fabrication techniques; basic studies of physical phenomena of interest to micromechanics; analysis of microsystems; exploration of new topics and materials related to micromechanics; microsystem-related problems like power supplies and signal transmission, microsystem-related simulation tools; other topics of interest to micromechanics.

Interface electronics: electronic circuits which are designed to interface directly with the above transducers and which are used for improving or complementing the characteristics of these devices, such as linearization, A/D conversion, temperature compensation, light-intensity compensation, current/frequency conversion and microcomputer interfacing.

Sensor Systems and Applications, such as: sensor buses, multiple-sensor systems, sensor networks, voting systems, telemetering, sensor arrays, and automotive, environmental, monitoring and control, consumer, medical, alarm and security, robotic, nautical, aeronautical and space measurement systems.

Editorial board


  • Liang Dong
    Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, United States

Associate Editors

  • Farrokh Ayazi
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Madhu Bhaskaran
    RMIT University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Zeynep Çelik-Butler
    University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas, United States
  • Isaku Kanno
    Kobe University, Kobe, Japan
  • Loes Segerink
    University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands
  • Mitsuhiro Shikida
    Hiroshima City University, Hiroshima, Japan
  • Yu Sun
    University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Kenichi Takahata
    The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Wengang Wu
    Peking University, Beijing, China
  • Huikai Xie
    Beijing Institute of Technology School of Information and Electronics, Hai Dian Qu, China
  • Yao-Joe Yang
    National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan

Founding Editor

  • Simon Middelhoek†
    Delft, Netherlands

Editorial Advisory Board

  • Wolfgang Benecke
    Bremen, Germany
  • Siebe Bouwstra
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Victor Bright
    Boulder, Colorado, United States
  • Hiroyuki Fujita
    Meguro-Ku, Japan
  • Yogesh Gianchandani
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
  • Kenneth Grattan
    London, United Kingdom
  • Roger Howe
    Stanford, California, United States
  • Koji Ikuta
    Nagoya, Japan
  • Wen Ko
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
  • Tetsuji Kobayashi
  • Satoshi Konishi
    Kusatsu, Japan
  • Walter Lang
    Bremen, Germany
  • Liwei Lin
    Berkeley, California, United States
  • Yu-Cheng Lin
    Tainan, Taiwan
  • Ai Qun Liu
    Singapore, Singapore
  • Michael Marcus
    Rochester, New York, United States
  • Carlos Mastrangelo
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
  • Arokia Nathan
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • Masanori Okuyama
    Osaka, Japan
  • Bob Puers
    Leuven, Belgium
  • Chavdar Roumenin
    Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Marios Sophocleous
    Lefkosia, Cyprus
  • Osamu Tabata
    Kusatsu, Japan
  • Yu-Chong Tai
    Pasadena, California, United States
  • Jan Van der Spiegel
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Ming Wu
    Los Angeles, California, United States
  • Shanhong Xia
    Beijing, China
  • Shinichi Yokota
    Yokohama, Japan
  • Zhaoying Zhou
    Beijing, China

Honorary Editorial Board

  • Mitsuo Ai
    AI Sensor Engineering Laboratory, Kashiwa-City, Japan
  • Minhang Bao
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • Gabriel Blasquez
    CNRS Laboratory for Systems Analysis and Architecture, Toulouse, France
  • Arnaldo D'Amico
    University of Rome Tor Vergata, Roma, Italy
  • Masayoshi Esashi
    Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • Paddy French
    TU Delft, Delft, Netherlands
  • Greg Kovacs
    Stanford University, Stanford, California, United States
  • Jeffrey Lang
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Oliver Paul
    University of Freiburg, Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
  • Kurt Petersen
    Amphenol NovaSensor, Fremont, California, United States
  • Stephen D. Senturia
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Harrie A.C. Tilmans
    Interuniversity Micro-Electronic Centre, Leuven, Belgium
  • Ken Wise
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
  • John Wood
    University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
  • Hiro Yamasaki
    Yokogawa Electric Corporation, Musashino, Japan