Tribology is the science of rubbing surfaces and contributes to every facet of our everyday life, from live cell friction to engine lubrication and seismology. As such tribology is truly multidisciplinary and this extraordinary breadth of scientific interest is reflected in the scope of Tribology International.

Tribology International seeks to publish original research papers of the highest scientific quality to provide an archival resource for scientists from all backgrounds. Written contributions are invited reporting experimental and modelling studies both in established areas of tribology and emerging fields. Scientific topics include the physics or chemistry of tribo-surfaces, bio-tribology, surface engineering and materials, contact mechanics, nano-tribology, lubricants and hydrodynamic lubrication.

Editorial board


  • M. Fillon
    National School of Mechanics and Aerotechnics, Poitiers, France
  • H. Liang
    Texas A&M University College Station, College Station, Texas, United States
  • W. M. Liu
    Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Lanzhou, China

International Advisory Editorial Board

  • M .J. Adams
    University of Birmingham, Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • M.D. Bermudez
    Polytechnic University of Cartagena, Cartagena, Spain
  • B. Bou-Saïd
    National Institute of Applied Sciences of Lyon, Villeurbanne, France
  • G. Carbone
    Polytechnic University of Bari Department of Mechanical Engineering Mathematics and Management, Bari, Italy
  • A. Chateauminois
    City of Paris Industrial Physics and Chemistry Higher Educational Institution, Paris, France
  • D. Dini
    Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom
  • K. Friedrich
    TU Kaiserslautern University, Kaiserslautern, Germany
  • S. Hsu
    The George Washington University Institute for Magnetics Research, Ashburn, Virginia, United States
  • M.M. Khonsari
    Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
  • A.A. Lubrecht
    National Institute of Applied Sciences of Lyon, Villeurbanne, France
  • J. B. Luo
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • A. Martini
    University of California Merced, Merced, California, United States
  • K. Miyoshi
    Nippon Institute of Technology Research Centre for Advanced Materials and Technology, Saitama, Japan
  • M. Priest
    University of Bradford, Bradford, United Kingdom
  • S. K. Sinha
    Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi, India
  • N.D. Spencer
    Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland
  • G. W. Stachowiak
    Curtin University, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • M. Stack
    University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
  • J. Sugimura
    Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan
  • R.J.K. Wood
    University of Southampton, Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Z. Zhang
    National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, Beijing, China
  • F. Zhou
    Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics, Lanzhou, China