Vacuum is an international rapid publications journal with a focus on short communication. All papers are peer-reviewed, with the review process for short communication geared towards very fast turnaround times. The journal also published full research papers, thematic issues and selected papers from leading conferences.

A report in Vacuum should represent a major advance in an area that involves a controlled environment at pressures of one atmosphere or below.

The scope of the journal includes:
1. Vacuum; original developments in vacuum pumping and instrumentation, vacuum measurement, vacuum gas dynamics, gas-surface interactions, surface treatment for UHV applications and low outgassing, vacuum melting, sintering, and vacuum metrology. Technology and solutions for large-scale facilities (e.g., particle accelerators and fusion devices). New instrumentation ( e.g., detectors and electron microscopes).
2. Plasma science; advances in PVD, CVD, plasma-assisted CVD, ion sources, deposition processes and analysis.
3. Surface science; surface engineering, surface chemistry, surface analysis, crystal growth, ion-surface interactions and etching, nanometer-scale processing, surface modification.
4. Materials science; novel functional or structural materials. Metals, ceramics, and polymers. Experiments, simulations, and modelling for understanding structure-property relationships. Thin films and coatings. Nanostructures and ion implantation.

The aim of the short communications is to enable researchers to rapidly share their most exciting work with their colleagues. The expected time from submission to final decision is approximately 6.4 weeks.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • L.G. Hultman
    Linköping University, Linköping, Sweden


  • P. Eklund
    Linköping University, Linköping, Sweden

Special Issue Editor

  • J.S. Colligon
    STFC Daresbury Laboratory, Warrington, Cheshire, United Kingdom

Associate Editors

  • O.B. Malyshev
    STFC Daresbury Laboratory, Warrington, Cheshire, United Kingdom
  • P. Mayrhofer
    TU Wien, Wien, Austria
  • L. Sabbatini
    Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro, Bari, Italy

Editorial Board Member

  • G. Abadias
    Université de Poitiers, Chasseneuil-Futuroscope, France
  • M. Anderle
    Autonomous Province of Trento, Trento, Italy
  • K. Baba
    Industrial Technology Center of Nagasaki, Nagasaki, Japan
  • S. Baba
    Seiki University, Tokyo, Japan
  • S. Baragetti
    University of Bergamo, Dalmine BG, Italy
  • L. Bardos
    Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden
  • M. Bartosik
    TU Wien, Wien, Austria
  • F. Berto
    Norwegian University of Science & Technology NTNU, Trondheim, Norway
  • H. Biederman
    Charles University, Praha 2, Czech Republic
  • W. Dai
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • J.L. de Segovia
    Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, Cantoblanco, Madrid, Spain
  • Y. Du
    Central South University, Changsha, Hunan, China
  • R.G. Elliman
    Australian National University, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
  • A. Erdemir
    Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA
  • A. Goodyear
    The Open University, Milton Keynes, UK
  • J.H. Huang
    National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
  • R.E. Hurley
    Queen's University Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
  • A. Ignatiev
    University of Houston, Houston, Texas, USA
  • K. Jousten
    Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, Berlin, Germany
  • D.S. Karpuzov
    University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • R. Kersevan
    CERN, Geneva 23, Switzerland
  • S. Kodambaka
    University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), Los Angeles, California, USA
  • M.K. Lei
    Dalian University of Technology, Dalian, China
  • K. Ludwig
    Boston University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
  • R. Miles
    Northumbria University, Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
  • Y.K. Mishra
    University of Kiel, Kiel, Germany
  • A.Z. Moshfegh
    Sharif University of Technology, Tehran, Iran
  • D. Music
    RWTH Aachen University (RWTH), Aachen, Germany
  • J. Musil
    University of West Bohemia, Plzen, Czech Republic
  • V. Nagirnyi
    University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia
  • H. Pedersen
    Linköping University, Linköping, Sweden
  • I. Petrov
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA
  • H. Pouraliakbar
    WorldTech Scientific Research Center (WT-SRC), Tehran, Iran
  • A. Prakash
    Intersil, A Renesas Company, Tempe, Arizona, USA
  • C. Rego
    Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester, UK
  • A. Rossi
    Università di Cagliari, Cagliari, Italy
  • Y. Saito
    KEK Japan, Tsukuba, Japan
  • J. Šetina
    Institute of Metals and Technology, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • F. Sharipov
    Universidade Federal do Paraná (UFPR), Curitiba, Brazil
  • L. Siller
    Newcastle University, Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
  • C.Q. Sun
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore
  • Y. Tanimoto
    KEK Japan, Tsukuba, Japan
  • D. Valougeorgis
    University of Thessaly, Volos, Greece
  • H. Wang
    Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
  • M.S. Wong
    National Dong Hwa University, Hualien, Taiwan
  • V.E. Yurasova
    M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • W. Zheng
    Jilin University, Changchun City, China