Pump Industry Awards (PIA) 2009 finalists

Votes can be made by going to www.pumpindustryawards.com until Friday 23rd October 2009.

The nominees are as follows: 

Technical innovation of the year, sponsored by Process & Control, awarded for the most innovative pump, pumping system or other pump related product (new or redeveloped) with effectiveness being demonstrated via application details.

Low Voltage AC Drive Modules, ABB

UNCD faces for mechanical seals, Advanced Diamond Technologies

CFdesign Motion Module, Blue Ridge Numerics

The World’s First “Laser Guided Oil Setting Tool”, Duke Energy

DiamondFaces® - Advanced Coating Technology, EagleBurgmann Industries

World’s most powerful deep submersible motor, Hayward Tyler Group

ProSmart™ predictive condition monitoring, ITT Goulds Pumps

D5solar domestic circulator, ITT Lowara

PumpExpert : Intelligent Diagnosis, KSB

Spectra Pearson Pump™, Spectra Watermakers

Environmental/energy saving award, sponsored by WEG Electric Motors, awarded for the pump product, system or service, which has made a significant contribution to environmental issues, such as energy savings, emissions control, noise reduction or life cycle costs.

Improving the energy efficiency in a pumping station from 68% to 87%, ABB

A systematic approach to energy efficiency in a pumping station, Advanced Energy Monitoring Systems

Less resistance to energy efficiency “The Pump Effect”, Duke Energy

D5solar domestic circulator, ITT Lowara

PumpDrive : future-oriented speed control for diverse applications, KSB

Manufacturer of the year, sponsored by EagleBurgmann Industries, awarded to the pump manufacturer who has achieved recognition from contractors or final end users of pump products for their services in areas such as technical expertise and advice, customisation of special needs, clarity of all documentation, on-time delivery and after sales service.


Flowserve Pumps

ITT Jabsco

SPP Pumps

Stuart Turner

Watson Marlow

Distributor of the Year, sponsored by ITT Jabsco, awarded to the pump distributor who has achieved recognition from either the pump sector or final end user for their services to industry in areas such as technical ability and advice, customisation of special needs, market penetration and growth and on time delivery and service.

AMS Pumps


Tomlinson Hall & Co

Supplier of the year, sponsored by World Pumps

Awarded to a supplier to the pump industry that has demonstrated consistently high levels of technical innovation and developments, environmental awareness, customer service and satisfaction, market penetration and growth.


EagleBurgmann Industries 

Morgan Technical Ceramics

Young pump engineer of the year, sponsored by SPP Pumps

David Fox, Flowserve Pumps 

Sohail Ahmed, Technical University Braunschweig 

Paul Matheson

Judges’ Special Award, sponsored by BPMA

Awarded for outstanding contribution and achievement. The winner is chosen by the Pump Industry Awards judging panel for a truly outstanding entry/individual/company. The winner of this category will be announced on the night of the Awards Ceremony.